A number of our clients have reported receiving letters from a German company today called “Internet Register Ireland” which seems to be a trading name of DAD Deutscher Adressdienst GmbH.
The letter is nicely presented and includes a business reply envelope (all printed on recycled paper no less!).
See below for sample:

The issue arises in the smaller print at the bottom of the page.
If you sign and send in the letter you will be agreeing to pay them the sum of €958 for a “listing” on their “directory”.
We would recommend clients to simply bin this letter.
Beware – Internet Register Ireland Scam
About Michele Neylon
Known for his outspoken opinions on technology and the Internet, Michele Neylon is the award winning author of several blogs and co-host of the Technology.ie podcast. A thought leader in the Internet community, Neylon is active with ICANN and an expert on policy, security, ICANN, Nominet and Internet Governance.Connect With Us
15 Responses to Beware – Internet Register Ireland Scam
-
Daniel: check this => http://orderdept.com/?d=gonzalez....
- Go mobi: [...] may we congratulate Michele Neylon on his ...
-
Michele Neylon: Alan It's a Facebook competition not a Twitter...
-
Alan Charnock: What if your not on facebook can you give me an op...
-
Gary Ewan Park: Congratulations! Well deserved!...
-
Daniel: There is quite a lot of Plugins for Wordpress that...
-
XXX Goes Live and This Is How We Push It
December 6, 2011
-
We’ve Moved .. And We’d Love Your Feedback
November 29, 2011
-
New TLD Application Window Opens Tomorrow What Does It Mean?
January 11, 2012
-
No Fluff Cloud Hosting Is Here
November 16, 2011
-
Blacknight Does Not Support SOPA
December 27, 2011
-
Think Of The Hungry Dragons And Get Mobile
January 30, 2012
-
Say It With Flowers .. Or Maybe A Domain?
February 10, 2012
-
Blacknight Leads the Irish Market for the Third Year in a Row
February 8, 2012
-
Want To Win An Xbox 360 + Xbox Live Gold Membership?
February 6, 2012
-
Security Issues
February 2, 2012
-
Calm Reasoned Dialogue Helps
February 1, 2012
-
Think Of The Hungry Dragons And Get Mobile
January 30, 2012
Recent Posts
- Say It With Flowers .. Or Maybe A Domain?
- Blacknight Leads the Irish Market for the Third Year in a Row
- Want To Win An Xbox 360 + Xbox Live Gold Membership?
- Security Issues
- Calm Reasoned Dialogue Helps
- Think Of The Hungry Dragons And Get Mobile
- Anonymous Targets Irish Government Sites In Response To “Irish SOPA”
- Say No To An Irish SOPA Style Law Say Yes To Democracy
- Happy new year again
- Use Zemanta To Improve Your Blogging
Tags
awards
blacknight
blog
blogging
business
cctlds
christmas
competition
design
discounts
dns
Domain name
Domain name registry
domains
dublin
email
eurid
events
facebook
Generic top-level domain
google
hosting
icann
iedr
iia
iPhone
IPv6
ireland
irish
linux
maintenance
marketing
Microsoft
network
offers
open source
promotions
security
Social media
special offers
technical support
Top-level domain
Twitter
vps
wordpress
Cool Sites
Unofficial Blacknight Blogs
Blacknight Sites
The Technology.ie Feed
- Keyboard Warriors [Podcast #16] February 9, 2012
- Win an Xbox 360 From Blacknight February 6, 2012
- Martha Rotter and Stewart Curry from Idea Magazine [Tech Heroes Podcast #2] January 31, 2012
- An Irish SOPA to an Irish Problem [Podcast #15] January 26, 2012
[X] CLOSE
Categories
- aftermarket (4)
- Blacknight (375)
- Blogging (52)
- business (29)
- Careers (11)
- Charity (3)
- Competitions (20)
- Domains (338)
- ecommerce (21)
- Email (34)
- spam filtering (7)
- Events (187)
- BarCampBelfast (3)
- Feedback (7)
- General (15)
- Hosting (219)
- Cloud Hosting (3)
- Ipv6 (14)
- network (40)
- redundancy (18)
- Service Issue (10)
- vps (17)
- howto (5)
- humour (9)
- irishblogs (268)
- IrishISPTest (1)
- Legal Issues (4)
- localisation (1)
- Maintenance (32)
- Marketing (126)
- mobile (1)
- monetisation (8)
- mysql (1)
- News (158)
- Podcasting (17)
- policy (18)
- Press Releases (24)
- Programming (33)
- ajax (2)
- asp.net (7)
- php (5)
- Ruby on Rails (1)
- Promotions (71)
- security (37)
- Seo (13)
- Tips (114)
- video (5)
- w3c (2)
- WordPress (1)
Monthly Archives
- February 2012 (5)
- January 2012 (12)
- December 2011 (9)
- November 2011 (9)
- October 2011 (7)
- September 2011 (11)
- August 2011 (6)
- July 2011 (7)
- June 2011 (8)
- May 2011 (8)
- April 2011 (10)
- March 2011 (6)
- February 2011 (6)
- January 2011 (8)
- December 2010 (7)
- November 2010 (6)
- October 2010 (9)
- September 2010 (9)
- August 2010 (10)
- July 2010 (9)
- June 2010 (5)
- May 2010 (10)
- April 2010 (13)
- March 2010 (14)
- February 2010 (14)
- January 2010 (11)
- December 2009 (17)
- November 2009 (7)
- October 2009 (9)
- September 2009 (20)
- August 2009 (12)
- July 2009 (14)
- June 2009 (8)
- May 2009 (21)
- April 2009 (12)
- March 2009 (19)
- February 2009 (12)
- January 2009 (21)
- December 2008 (24)
- November 2008 (18)
- October 2008 (18)
- September 2008 (22)
- August 2008 (27)
- July 2008 (19)
- June 2008 (10)
- May 2008 (13)
- April 2008 (15)
- March 2008 (16)
- February 2008 (22)
- January 2008 (17)
- December 2007 (16)
- November 2007 (28)
- October 2007 (15)
- September 2007 (31)
- August 2007 (23)
- July 2007 (18)
- June 2007 (7)
- May 2007 (4)
- April 2007 (9)
- March 2007 (8)
- February 2007 (10)
- January 2007 (8)
- December 2006 (3)
- November 2006 (4)
- October 2006 (7)
- September 2006 (5)
- August 2006 (4)
- July 2006 (5)
- June 2006 (5)
- May 2006 (7)
- April 2006 (7)
- March 2006 (13)









I got one of these. However, I work for a huge multinational software company and they somehow addressed it to me saying I own the .com domain! Ha, I wish!
Seems these folks are doing their rounds again but under a different site.
I want to try and dig a bit before jumping the gun on this new site and see if there is a connection.
Hav you heard anything at your end?
Gavin.
I haven’t heard anything new
I got one too. Nice try, Fritz. I’m going to call the phone number at the top of the letter and hurl dog’s abuse at them for several minutes!
Just got one this morning 19/09/07. In the small print it says €958 per annum and the order is valid for three years. Removed my name and ref no. and faxed my “comments” to the number on top. Feels good!!
Jonathan – If their English isn’t that good you mightn’t get that much satisfaction from it
Gerald – I got one this morning for blackknight.ie!
Michele
I have now received 3 of these letters and I rang the office and asked to speak to the manager, the first question I got from her “Are you a journalist?” how guilty can you be!!!!
Can we report this to anyone offical?
Hey Guys, it’s still doing the rounds, I got one this morning. Luckally I googled them. I was going 2 have a bash at contanting them with my leaving cert pass german, but it looks like I won’t have to!
I got one the other day too.
Same as last year. Man they must have made a fortune by now.
Just got one of these today too. They didn’t even spell my domain name right!
Their system is obviously automated, as I got one for blacknight.ie the other day
hi there we have had lot mail from these people we signed the fax in error and sent it back and now thay say thay are taking us to court any advice would be nice cheers ace party
I have also been caught by this scam and I am receiving demands for payment. I have no intention of paying them but not sure what the legal position is. Any suggestions?
John
I’d recommend you speak to your solicitor if you want legal advice. If you provide them with all the evidence of what that company has been up to they should be in a position to provide you with the information you need
Regards
Michele
Yes got one of these also – filled it in. and now they are looking for payment.
Anyone done anything about this?