Phishers Targetting Domain Owners

| 4 Comments
I mentioned that phishers were targetting eNom quite recently, but it seems that eNom was not alone. We've also been informed that some of the other registrars, including Network Solutions, are being targetted.

If you get a suspicious email purporting to be from your domain registrar please let us know.

Take a few simple precautions.

DO NOT send credit card information via email.

If you are being asked to login to a registrars site to verify data DO NOT use the link in the email. Go directly to the registrar's site in your browser ie. type the link in yourself

If I get hold of any of the phishing emails I'll try to post screenshots

Update: To learn more about the email targetting Network Solutions' users and to see a sample check out their blog post.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

4 Comments

Hmmm. I received the Network Solutions one, and also they are targeting Google AdWords. Be warned.

I have forwarded copies of both to you.

Thanks :)

I've seen them targetting just about every big online service at this stage!

Hi Michele,

Thank you for the post alerting people about the phishing scam. I work for Network Solutions and we have been proactively warnging people to be careful about phishing emails.We posted an alert on our blog http://tinyurl.com/5ojysg to warn people and have been askeing the community to help spread the word.

Thanks,

Shashi Bellamkonda
http://blog.networksolutions.com

Shashi

I've updated the post to include a link to yours

regards

Michele

Networks

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 4.24-en
We have published 654 articles so far.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Michele Neylon published on November 8, 2008 1:57 PM.

US Election Online Post-Mortems was the previous entry in this blog.

Publish Information People Want is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

DomainInformer Readers' Choice Top 10